Return to blogging?

I know. Its been just over 8 months since I last posted anything here, but I think I’m finally ready to be back.

So much has happened since September that I’d love to write about here but for now I think the more recent and pressing issues going on are really what I want to talk about.

I’m actually disappointed and maybe a tad bit angry at the Saudi masses. Tunisia, Egypt, Yemen, Libya, Bahrain, Jordan, Syria and so many other Arab countries have been fighting for their freedom and rights for the last 6 months and yet when there was a call to a protest, the streets of Jeddah were practically empty.

Okai, so I’m not exactly calling for a protest. I get that what might work in one place may not necessarily work in another. But come on Saudi’s; really? Seriously? Are we just all talk?

So we’ve had plenty of petitions going around, some even got over 6,000 signatures, which is good, I acknowledge. But I don’t think its enough. I cannot even begin to explain how frustrating it is that there are still some people in Saudi Arabia who will not allow themselves the freedom and independence in their own thoughts that they should own. We still have to wait for a public figure to make a statement in order to endorse it.

And maybe we could go about doing that, but honestly, after Sheikh Monjed’s most recent statement about Manal Alsharif’s campaign to get women driving here, it just saddens me that there are still so many people who will take his words as if they were verses from the Quran?

A little independent thinking? They aren’t.

About this entry